Sunday, September 24, 2023
HomeCONTESTSIFBB Pro Mamdouh “Big Ramy” Elssbiay Wins “The 2021 Mr. Olympia Title”

IFBB Pro Mamdouh “Big Ramy” Elssbiay Wins “The 2021 Mr. Olympia Title”

Your 2021 Mr. Olympia is Big Ramy. After a competitive round of pre-judging on Friday, Oct. 8 — which included solid showings from relative Olympia newcomers Hunter Labrada and Nick Walker — the judges seemed to favor Mamdouh “Big Ramy” Elssbiay and Brandon Curry. In the end, it was the defending champ who managed to hang onto the most prestigious title in bodybuilding. Since Elssbiay is a previous Olympia winner, the total count of Mr. O remains at 16. Ramy retains his title after a close battle with former Mr. O Brandon Curry.

Joe Wieder’s Olympia Fitness & Performance Weekend took place in Orlando, FL, from Oct. 7-10. It featured 11 divisions — including the debut of the Wellness Division — and there was $1.6 million on the line. 2019 Mr. Olympia Brandon Curry placed second, and “The Persian Wolf Hadi Choopan placed third. In total, the 2021 Mr. Olympia took home $400,000 in cash. Here is the entire top five:

2021 Mr. Olympia Top Five

  1. Mamdouh “Big Ramy” Elssbiay, $400,000
  2. Brandon Curry, $150,000
  3. Hadi Choopan, $100,000*
  4. Hunter Labrada, $40,000
  5. Nick Walker, $35,000
  • Hadi Choopan also won his second People’s Champion award, voted on by the fans.

During the Men’s Open pre-judging, the first callout featured six men: Nick Walker, Hadi Choopan, Big Ramy, Brandon Curry, Hunter Labrada, and William Bonac. Hadi Choopan brought what many fans and media members consider to be his best level of conditioning yet.

On Saturday, Choopan, Big Ramy, and Curry took center stage for what was presumably the showdown of the top three. All three men presented an elite package with little to no error. The judges certainly had their work cut out for them.

The bodybuilder who hails from Egypt exploded onto the pro scene in 2013 by winning the New York Pro that year. Fans and the media marveled at his size — 5’11” and nearly 300 pounds on stage.  This is Elssbiay’s eighth Mr. Olympia appearance and 20th competitive bodybuilding show.

2021 Olympia Weekend

The rest of the Olympia was also action-packed. Derek Lunsford defeated defending champion Shaun Clarida to become the new 212 Olympia winner. Also of note, Francielle Mattos won the first-ever Wellness division. Missed some of the action? Here are the 10 other division winners:

  • 212 Division
  • Fitness Division
  • Ms. Olympia
  • Figure Division
  • Women’s Physique
  • Wellness Division
  • Wheelchair Olympia
  • Men’s Physique
  • Classic Physique
  • Bikini

2021 Olympia Schedule

Olympia Weekend ran from Oct. 7-10, with the pro competitions taking place on the eighth and ninth. The Mr. Olympia finals will wrap on Saturday. Here’s the complete competition schedule:

Mr. Olympia Winners History 

You can check the full Mr. Olympia history here!

2020 Mamdouh “Big Ramy” Elssbiay Orlando, FL
2019 Brandon Curry Las Vegas, NV
2018 Shawn Rhoden Las Vegas, NV
2017 Phil Heath Las Vegas, NV
2016 Phil Heath Las Vegas, NV
2015 Phil Heath Las Vegas, NV
2014 Phil Heath Las Vegas, NV
2013 Phil Heath Las Vegas, NV
2012 Phil Heath Las Vegas, NV
2011 Phil Heath Las Vegas, NV
2010 Jay Cutler Las Vegas, NV
2009 Jay Cutler Las Vegas, NV
2008 Dexter Jackson Las Vegas, NV
2007 Jay Cutler Las Vegas, NV
2006 Jay Cutler Las Vegas, NV
2005 Ronnie Coleman Las Vegas, NV
2004 Ronnie Coleman Las Vegas, NV
2003 Ronnie Coleman Las Vegas, NV
2002 Ronnie Coleman Las Vegas, NV
2001 Ronnie Coleman Las Vegas, NV
2000 Ronnie Coleman Las Vegas, NV
1999 Ronnie Coleman Las Vegas, NV
1998 Ronnie Coleman New York, NY
1997 Dorian Yates Los Angeles, CA
1996 Dorian Yates Chicago, IL
1995 Dorian Yates Atlanta, GA
1994 Dorian Yates Atlanta, GA
1993 Dorian Yates Atlanta, GA
1992 Dorian Yates Helsinki, Finland
1991 Lee Haney Orlando, FL
1990 Lee Haney Chicago, IL
1989 Lee Haney Rimini, Italy
1988 Lee Haney Los Angeles, CA
1987 Lee Haney Gothenburg, Sweden
1986 Lee Haney Columbus, OH
1985 Lee Haney Brussels, Belgium
1984 Lee Haney New York, NY
1983 Samir Bannout Munich, Germany
1982 Chris Dickerson London, England
1981 Franco Columbu Columbus, OH
1980 Arnold Schwarzenegger Sydney, Australia
1979 Frank Zane Columbus, OH
1978 Frank Zane Columbus, OH
1977 Frank Zane Columbus, OH
1976 Franco Columbu Columbus, OH
1975 Arnold Schwarzenegger Pretoria, South Africa
1974 Arnold Schwarzenegger New York, NY
1973 Arnold Schwarzenegger New York, NY
1972 Arnold Schwarzenegger Essen, Germany
1971 Arnold Schwarzenegger Paris France
1970 Arnold Schwarzenegger New York, NY
1969 Sergio Oliva New York, NY
1968 Sergio Oliva New York, NY
1967 Sergio Oliva New York, NY
1966 Larry Scott New York, NY
1965 Larry Scott New York, NY

Saturday Results:


IFBNewsfeed.Org™ is the first digital network in the United States to deliver health, fitness, bodybuilding, and strength sports content. We publish premium content with the biggest names in fitness and provide expert coverage, reviews on top brands, workout tips, and trends in fitness, bodybuilding, health, and strength sports. IFBNewsfeed.Org™ is an American Sports Online Magazine that publishes and broadcasts articles, shows, contests, and all information related to Fitness, Powerlifting, CrossFit, and Bodybuilding Sports. It’s headquartered In The District of Columbia, in the United States Of America.
0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Most Popular

Recent Comments